LAFOLLETTE, TN (WLAF) – It’s been 55-years since the La Follette Little League All-Stars claimed the 1965 State Championship.  That unforgettable group of the boys of summer will be recognized in Thursday’s edition of the La Follette Press.  Sports Editor Noah Taylor confirmed earlier this week that he plans to feature the group of men who are now pushing 70-years of age.  During that magical summer, WLAF’s Dick Jones broadcast every game live over AM 1450, the La Follette Press provided weekly coverage and the town came out in throngs to celebrate the team with a parade.

The 1965 LaFollette Little League All-Star team was comprised of Coach Junior Honeycutt, Quinn Smith, Jeff Bullock, Lonnie Wilson, Darryl Woods, Scott Gibson, Dennis Powers, Lonnie Dupuy, Clyde Seiber, James Carson, Gary Lovett, Danny McCullah, Keaton Jordan, Mark Russell, Leland Miller and Coach Johnny Letner.  (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 08/12/2020-6AM)

One Reply to “Press to recognize La Follette’s 1965 State Champs”

Comments are closed.