No petitions were picked up on Fri. or Sat. for the Aug. General Election

JACKSBORO, TN (WLAF) – There’s a pause in early voting today since it’s Presidents Day, and the Election Commission Office is closed.

Early voting for the Presidential Preference Primary starts back on Tue. and runs through Tue., Feb. 27.

On Fri., 48 early votes were cast, and 22 Campbell County voters voted on Sat. The total number of early votes so far stands at 147.

Election Day is Tue., March 5. Here are the early voting locations, days and hours.


Monday – Thursday  9:00 a.m. –   4:00 p.m.

Friday                                 9:00 a.m. –   7:00 p.m.

Saturday                           9:00 a.m. –   1:00 p.m.


Monday – Thursday   9:00 a.m. –   2:00 p.m.

Friday                                  2:00 p.m. –   7:00 p.m.

Saturday                            9:00 a.m. –   1:00 p.m.

On Thursday, there were two petitions requested to run in the August general election; former Campbell High Principal Jamie Wheeler and DeWayne “Mailman” Kitts, a sitting county commissioner.  Wheeler will challenge incumbent Josh James for the school board post in District 4 while Kitts joins a growing field of candidates vying for the second district’s school board seat currently held by Brent Lester.  Marvin Rutherford and Bryan St. John have also picked up petitions to run against Lester.

Can Kitts hold a county commission seat and a school board seat simultaneously?  No, according to state law.  “He will have to resign from the county commission, and the commission will have to accept his resignation in order for our office to accept his petition for county school board member (TCA 49-2-202),” said Mallory Rosenfeld, Administrator of Elections.

Elsewhere, the week of Feb. 5, Campbell School Board Chairman and incumbent Steve Morgan and Ryne Cummins picked up petitions to run for the 5th district school board post. The third district field for school board continues to grow. Jessica Childress and Jason Rutherford, who picked up petitions the week of Feb. 5, are joined in that field by Brandon Johnson and Jacob Perkins.

August (incumbent)

The county will elect a road superintendent (Ron Dilbeck), property assessor (Brandon Partin) and five school board members. School board seats to be elected are District 1 (Lisa Fields), District 2 (Brent Lester), District 3 (Johnny Byrge), District 4 (Josh James) and District 5 (Steve Morgan). All these incumbents were unopposed in the last election, 2020.

Dilbeck, Partin, Fields, Lester and James picked up petitions on Feb. 5 to run in the late summer general election. Dilbeck, road superintendent and Partin, property assessor, are incumbents while school board incumbents are Fields (D-1), Lester (D-2) and James (D-4).

State Rep. Dennis Powers asked for a petition to get his name on the August ballot which will be the state’s primary election.

Those wishing to run for public office in the August election may pick up petitions through Thu., April 4, 2024. Petitions must be turned in by noon on Thu., April 4, 2024.

The state districts will elect candidates in August, the primary for November’s general election; District 36 State Representative (Dennis Powers) and District 12 State Senate (Ken Yager).

November (incumbent)

The City of La Follette and the Town of Caryville have seven combined posts to be filled. Caryville will elect a mayor (Bobby Stooksbury) and three aldermen; Ward 1 (Patrick Pebley), Ward 2 (Eric Jones) and Ward 3 (Lloyd Lawson). Voters in the City of La Follette will elect a mayor (Cliff Jennings) and two council members (Phillip Farmer and Wayne Kitts).

Those wishing to run for public office in the November election may begin picking up petitions starting Friday, May 17, 2024.

(WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 02/19/2024-6AM)