Election day is Thursday, August 1, 2024

JACKSBORO, TN (WLAF) – One new comer, Jessica Childress, along with six incumbents picked up petitions on Monday to run for office in the August 2024 general county election and state primary. Since, three more petitions have been picked up. Two are for the school board race in District 2 and were picked up by Marvin Rutherford and Bryan St. John. The other was picked up on Friday by Jason Rutherford for the third district school board post.

August (incumbent)

The county will elect a road superintendent (Ron Dilbeck), property assessor (Brandon Partin) and five school board members. School board seats to be elected are District 1 (Lisa Fields), District 2 (Brent Lester), District 3 (Johnny Byrge), District 4 (Josh James) and District 5 (Steve Morgan). All these incumbents were unopposed in the last election, 2020.

Aside from Childress, Dilbeck, Partin, Fields, Lester and James picked up petitions on Monday to run in the late summer general election. Dilbeck, road superintendent and Partin, property assessor, are incumbents while school board incumbents are Fields (D-1), Lester (D-2) and James (D-4). Childress is seeking the third district school board seat.

Marvin Rutherford and Bryan St. John plan to challenge incumbent Brent Lester for the school board seat in District 2. Jason Rutherford is running for the third district school board post.

State Representative Dennis Powers picked up a petition to get his name on the August ballot which will be the state’s primary election.

Those wishing to run for public office in the August election may pick up petitions through Thu., April 4, 2024. Petitions must be turned in by noon on Thu., April 4, 2024.

The state districts will elect candidates in August, the primary for November’s general election; District 36 State Representative (Dennis Powers) and District 12 State Senate (Ken Yager).

November (incumbent)

The City of La Follette and the Town of Caryville have seven combined posts to be filled. Caryville will elect a mayor (Bobby Stooksbury) and three aldermen; Ward 1 (Patrick Pebley), Ward 2 (Eric Jones) and Ward 3 (Lloyd Lawson). Voters in the City of La Follette will elect a mayor (Cliff Jennings) and two council members (Phillip Farmer and Wayne Kitts).

Those wishing to run for public office in the November election may begin picking up petitions starting Friday, May 17, 2024.

(WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 02/10/2024-6AM)