Three elections set for 2024 in Campbell County

JACKSBORO, TN (WLAF) – It’s a big election year in Campbell County with three elections ahead in March, August and November.

On Tue., Mar. 5, is the Presidential Preference Primary with the State and Federal Primary and State and County General Election set for Thu., Aug. 1. Coming up on Tue., Nov. 5, is the State and Federal and Municipal election.

August (incumbent)

The county will elect a road superintendent (Ron Dilbeck), property assessor (Brandon Partin) and five school board members. School board seats to be elected are District 1 (Lisa Fields), District 2 (Brent Lester), District 3 (Johnny Byrge), District 4 (Josh James) and District 5 (Steve Morgan). All these incumbents were unopposed in the last election, 2020.

Those wishing to run for public office in the August election may begin picking up petitions starting Monday, February 5, 2024.

The state districts will elect candidates in August, the primary for November’s general election; District 36 State Representative (Dennis Powers) and District 12 State Senate (Ken Yager).

November (incumbent)

The City of La Follette and the Town of Caryville have seven combined posts to be filled. Caryville will elect a mayor (Bobby Stooksbury) and three aldermen; Ward 1 (Patrick Pebley), Ward 2 (Eric Jones) and Ward 3 (Lloyd Lawson). Voters in the City of La Follette will elect a mayor (Cliff Jennings) and two council members (Phillip Farmer and Wayne Kitts).

Those wishing to run for public office in the November election may begin picking up petitions starting Friday, May 17, 2024.

(WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 02/05/2024-6AM)