Campbell County High School Cougars held it’s annual football banquet and awards ceremony on Monday evening at the Ball Farm. Coaching staff spoke about 2021 season highlights. (Left to right) Chris Honeycutt, Matt Price Josh Kerr, Nick Bailey, Dewayne Baird, Landon Reese and Troy Arnold.

By Charlotte Underwood

LAFOLLETTE, TN (WLAF) – Campbell County High School held its annual football banquet and awards ceremony on Monday evening at the Ball Farm. Players and parents gathered to celebrate this past season as well as honor the 16 seniors on the team.

The banquet kicked off with a thank you to all supporters and sponsors of Cougar Football. Coach Matt Price said special thanks to the program’s “All-In” Sponsors including People’s Bank, Ellison Supply, All-State, Deer Field and Kevin Fields, Bill Snodgrass, Exterior Home Solutions, LaFollette Utility Board, Norris Lake Insurance, Jeff Lobertini, Grace Rehab and Pyro Shows.

Price also said he wanted to recognize the school system, the central office and the school board for their support, as well as Josh Parker and Olivia Lobertini.

The late Jack Reynolds, for whom the CCHS football field is named, and Peoples Bank of the South were recognized as an “All-In” supporter of the CCHS football Program. Reynolds son, David, President of Peoples Bank of the South, accepts a Cougar shirt.

“It takes an army to run a 5A program and our school system makes this possible,” Price said.

Price also recognized the Campbell County Sheriff’s Department for providing security at the games, as well as multiple churches, individuals and businesses who helped feed the team.

Coaching staff and athletic trainers were recognized as were cheerleaders.

The “Top Cougar” Director of Schools Jennifer Fields, the central office and the school system were all recognized for supporting the Cougar Football program.

Coaches handed out season awards, congratulating each athlete on their accomplishments. Caleb Muncy received the most improved player award, Zac Brady brought home the “Bring the Hammer” award, Kayden King was awarded Rookie of the Year, Landon York was the recipient of the “Do your Job” award and C.J. Allen received the “All-In” award.

All Region players included Mason Shanks, Caleb Muncy, Josh Heatherly, C.J. Allen, Zac Brady, Will Lester, Devon Jones, Ethan Miller, Hunter White, Desmond Gilbert, and Peyton Ferguson. All Region honorable mentions included Jadon White, Calob Osborne, Blake Roberts, and Storm Webb.

Hunter White was named Quarterback of the Region and C.J. Allen was named Running Back of the year. Allen is also a two time All-State player.

WLAF’s Josh Parker (vest), who heads up the student cheering section, was recognized for his support of the Cougar football program.

Highlights of the season were covered for each grade, finishing with the seniors. Coaches said they looked forward to the new season to come and freshman, sophomore and junior players stepping into leadership roles. They also said they would miss exiting seniors.

“We have had a great season. What this group did has been impressive. We’re going to miss this group so much and we’re proud of them,” Price said of the senior team members. (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 02/01/2022-6AM)