NASHVILLE, TN (SPECIAL TO WLAF) – State Senator Ken Yager (R-Kingston) today released a line-up of speakers for his annual free Grants Conference.  The purpose of the conference is to improve opportunities for local citizens, organizations and governments to find and tap into a wide variety of grant funds available to them. 

“We have a very strong program this year,” said Senator Yager.  “We are fortunate to have state grant decision makers and other officials who are extremely knowledgeable about how to submit a successful application.  We just want to remind citizens and organizations of this free conference and let them know about the powerful line-up of speakers we have coming to help them successfully access available funds.”

The conference will be held at Roane State Community College in Harriman in the O’Brien Theatre from 8:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. ET.  Admission is free but attendees must register for the event. Please go to the RSCC portal to register.  Online registration, which is currently open, closes on September 24.

The agenda is:

7:30 am           Check in

8:30 am           Welcome and Announcements

State Senator Ken Yager

Dr. Chris Whaley, President, Roane State Community College

9:00 am           Keith Harrison, Assistant Commissioner for Business Development,

                        Tennessee Department of Agriculture

9:30 am           Panel Discussion

                        Mark Farley, Executive Director, Upper Cumberland Development District

                        Beth Jones, Executive Director, Southeast Tennessee Development District

                        Rick Yakubic, Executive Director, East Tennessee Development District

10:00 am         Emily You, Broadband Grants Manager, Tennessee Department of Economic & Community Development

10:30 am         Break

Representatives from Senators Blackburn and Hagerty as well as Representatives DesJarlais, Fleischmann, and Rose will be available for questions regarding Federal Grant Programs.

11:00 am         Brooxie Carlton, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Assistant Commissioner of Community and Rural Development, Tennessee Department of Economic & Community Development

11:30 am         Grant Minchew, Director of Legislation, Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development  

12:00 pm        Lunch

                        Dave Worland, Executive Director, Faith-Based and Community Initiatives

                        The Office of Governor Bill Lee

(WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 09/09/2021-10AM)