NASHVILLE, TN (WLAF) – Today, the Tennessee Department of Education announced Gov. Lee’s Future Workforce Initiative will award $10,000 to each of the 22 schools that received the Tennessee STEM School Designation for 2020.  Elk Valley Elementary School is on the list to be awarded $10,000.  CORRECTION:  Elk Valley, deemed a STEM school in 2019, will not receive the $10,000 for their STEM School designation.  That was for the 22 schools (listed below) that received that designation for the 2020 school year.  However, Elk Valley will receive an additional $4,230 this year.  That is the amount being awarded to the STEM schools that received the designation in 2018 and 2019.  HERE is the WLAF story from 2019 when EVES was designated as a Tennessee STEM School.

In 2019, Governor Bill Lee announced the Future Workforce Initiative to increase science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) training in K-12 schools. The initiative aims to put Tennessee in the top 25 states for creating technology jobs through launching new CTE, STEM-focused programs in public schools.
“Investing in our students’ futures starts with preparing them for the jobs of tomorrow,” said  Lee. “The Future Workforce Initiative will increase access to important career and technical education for students at all levels, and we’re glad the state can help our STEM designated schools build upon their great work.”
Funds allocated for the first time through the Future Workforce Initiative will provide 2020 and 2021 STEM Designated Schools with a $10,000 grant intended to continue to sustain and expand these schools’ STEM and/or STEAM programs. In the past, STEM Designated Schools received a small stipend with the award. With remaining allocated funds, 2018 and 2019 designated schools will also receive an additional grant of $4,230 this year.
“We are so excited to see our STEM designated schools receive these additional funds to continue building upon these essential programs. Each of our schools earned the STEM Designation through a unique STEM and/or STEAM program that is equipping students with the necessary skills for their futures.” said Commissioner Schwinn. “STEM education is fundamental for students to ensure they are prepared for postsecondary opportunities and the future of the workforce.”
The 2020 Tennessee STEM designated schools were selected for their STEM and/or STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics) integration into learning experiences for all students, which prepares them for success in post-secondary opportunities and the workforce. Each of the schools awarded this designation were evaluated through an application process, including a self-evaluation, interviews, and hosting site visits with the Tennessee STEM Designation review team.
Designated schools will also be invited to share promising practices at the next Tennessee STEM Innovation Summit and become a member of Tennessee STEM Innovation Network’s group of schools. The 22 schools chosen this year join the other 26 previously designated schools and will serve as models, which other schools may visit and learn.

As a part of the process, schools were also required to submit a plan of action for implementing and sustaining STEM and/or STEAM education for the next five years. From this process, a total of 22 schools received the Tennessee STEM School Designation for 2020:

· Ashland City Elementary School, Cheatham County Schools

· Bradley Academy- An Arts Integrated School (K-6), Murfreesboro City Schools

· Cleveland High School, Cleveland City Schools

· Erma Siegel Elementary School, Murfreesboro City Schools

· Harrison Elementary School, Hamilton County Schools

· Hixson Middle School, Hamilton County Schools

· Kenwood High School, Clarksville-Montgomery County School System

· Memphis Academy of Science and Engineering (MASE) (9-12), Shelby County Schools

· Midway Middle School, Roane County School District

· Mount Pleasant Elementary School, Maury County Public Schools

· Mount Pleasant Middle School, Maury County Public Schools

· Mount Pleasant High School, Maury County Public Schools

· Normal Park Museum Magnet (PK-8), Hamilton County Schools

· Peabody High School, Trenton Special School District

· Petros-Joyner Elementary School, Morgan County Schools

· Pope John Paul II High School, Private

· Portland East Middle School, Sumner County Schools

· Randolph Howell Elementary, Maury County Public Schools

· Red Bank Elementary School, Hamilton County Schools

· Red Bank High School, Hamilton County Schools

· Sequoyah High School, Monroe County Schools

· Waterville Elementary School, Bradley County Schools

(WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 05/12/2020-6AM UPDATED-05/13/2020-6AM)