JACKSBORO, TN (WLAF) – COVID-19 restrictions continue changing the landscape of our community. Last night the Campbell County Commission met via Zoom to appoint members to the county equalization board.

Eleven commissioners were present for the meeting.  Absent were Carl Douglas, Charles “Butch” Kohlmeyer, Tyler King and Whit Goins.

Chairman Johnny Bruce opened the meeting with a “statement for the record that meeting electronically is necessary to protect public health, safety, and welfare in light of the coronavirus.”

Each district appointed one representative with two districts requesting an alternate. The first district nominee was Angel Richardson; second district, Martha Wells; third district, Marlene Broadway; fourth district, Keith Clotfelter and fifth district, Jerry Neal. The second district nominated Tommy Overton, and the third district nominated Brenda Thomas as alternates. After a brief discussion, commission decided to not appoint alternates for the board. Commissioner Rusty Orick made the motion, with Commissioner Scott Kitts seconding the motion to appoint the five members to the equalization board.  All were in favor. (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 04/30/2020-6AM)