Thirty-nine distinguished Tennessee College of Applied Technology -Jacksboro students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society on Thursday, August 16, 2018.  The purpose of the National Technical Honor Society is to promote student excellence and leadership in career and technical education and to recognize educational achievements. Additionally, TCAT-Jacksboro acknowledges students strong in worker character skills, such as: exhibiting leadership and initiative; demonstrating timeliness; taking pride in your work; using team skills; using proper attitudes; exampling quality of work;  following instructions;  being at work dependably; being honest and responsible; maintaining composure and self- control; and  maintaining professional dress.

The induction ceremony was held at LaFollette United Methodist Church.  Advisor Chandy Hensley greeted the students and guests. LaFollette Boy Scout Troop #310 led the Presenting of the Colors and the Pledge of Allegiance.

The keynote speaker was TCAT President Debbie Petree.  She congratulated the students on their outstanding achievements and gave poignant guidance in her keynote address. Petree advised the honor students to choose wisely who they surround themselves with in life. She discussed the valuable life lesson in the Jim Rohn quote “You are the average of the five people you spend the most time with.” President Petree emphasized the importance of having people in your life that contribute a value to it as these people will shape you and have a significant effect on you.

Faculty and staff members Leann Adkins, Zach Baughcum, Camilla Gambrel, Phillip Lay and Teresa Nelson assisted in the induction ceremony.

The following students were honored: Lance Amburgey, Rhonda Asher, Wendy Bearce, Natasha Bruce, Savanna Bruce, Sarah Cinnamon, Lori Clyde, Ashley Croley, Sarah Dodson, Debbie Faulkner, Della Finch, Heather Gentry, Kendra Harding, Destini Heidle, Tiffany Hensley, Naomi Hood, Emily Hughes, Jessica Johnson, Chyanne Kellar-Vasquez, Hannah Lambert, Journee Leach, Tristen McCloud, Taylor McMillan, Brittnei McNeely, Dana Morgan, Joshua North, Olivia Owens, Tasha Pennington, Christopher Powell, Kendra Ridenour, Ragan Rigney, Ashley Sanders, Olivia Veach, Rachel Weltch, Nikki Whitton, Kristen Wilhoit, Megan Wilson, Sierra Wilson and Heather Young.

Congratulations to our Tennessee College of Applied Technology– Jacksboro honor students. We are so proud of you and your achievements!  (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 09/06/2018-6AM)