Campbell County’s 2018 General Election saw several close races as the night wore on.   CLICK HERE for all the final numbers – this link had been on the fritz and is now working.

In what was perhaps the two most watched races of the election, the incumbents went back into office. Sheriff Robbie Goins was elected to his third term in a 5,094 to 4,624 vote victory over challenger Jimmy Jeffries.

L-R Bobby Vann, Susan Sharp, Noah Smith, and Robbie Goins

SEE Charlie and Lindsey Hutson photos here.

In the mayor’s office, incumbent EL Morton saw a narrow victory over Jack Lynch. It was a scene replayed from the 2014 election in which Morton won over Lynch by a slim margin. This year, Morton garnered 2,643 to Lynch’s 2,437. Aaron Evans came in with 1,736 votes followed by Brian Younce at 1,184, David G. Young with 1,162 and Mike Freeman rounded out the field at 531 votes.

Election Coverage ’18 on WLAF is brought to you in part by Dave’s Lawn Mower Parts, C & L Furniture, LUB, First National Bank, Gray Nationwide Insurance, Terry’s Pharmacy, Dr. Jill Browning, Common Ground, PCUD, Robbins Guttering, David Bales Buick GMC, the Campbell County Chamber of Commerce, JCR Construction, Owens Shoe Store, State Farm Agent Tabatha Smith, & Peoples Bank of the South.

County court clerk Alene Baird won another term over Todd Nance. In a last minute victory, Baird’s 5,015 votes were enough to beat Nance’s 4,704 votes.

With a field of 10 vying for the register of deeds office, June Turner, a 38 year employee of the office, won the office with 2,486 votes. She was followed by Brittany Miller Foust with 1,355, Beverly Hall at 1,261, Greg Cross with 869, Johnny Vanover with 846, Ron McClellan at 813, Pete Huckaby with 732,  Tom Hatmaker at 724, Gary Berry with 418 and Patrick Silcox with 213 votes.

County trustee Monty Bullock won his race over Tommy Overton in a 7,487 to 1,846 victory,

Circuit court clerk Bobby Vann, who was running unopposed garnered 8,413 complementary votes.

In a review of the voting totals, the winners of the night’s races all won their contests in early voting with the exception of two, Alene Baird lost in early voting to Todd Nance by 14 votes and Josh James, who went on to win a second district school board seat lost to incumbent Sharon Ridenour by four votes. In the end, James won over Ridenour in a 675 to 604 victory. (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 08/03/2018-MIDNIGHT)