With the 2018 fall elections over, there has been some turn over in a few seats.  SEE ALL THE TOTALS HERE.

In the City of LaFollette races it was the top two vote getters that were declared the winners. Incumbent Ann Thompson retained her seat with 648 votes. Political newcomer Mark Hoskins unseated Vice Mayor Joe Bolinger in a 557 to 387 vote race. It was a close race between Hoskins and former LaFollette Mayor Cliff Jennings for that seat with only three votes making the difference in the win for Hoskins. The two men garnered 557 to 554 respectively.

TOP PHOTO:  State Representative Dennis Powers expresses his appreciation on WLAF for being re-elected.  WLAF’s Jim Freeman (R).

The rest of the votes were Michael Hammons, 198, Arnie Meredith, 191, and Jaye Mitts, 96 votes each.

In the fourth district school board race, Noah Smith was the winner with 1,221 votes to Jennifer Orick’s 1,064. Orick was appointed to the seat by the county commission in July following the death of her husband, Mike Orick, who had held the seat. The 19-year old Smith is a freshman at the University of Tennessee and a 2018 graduate of Campbell County High School.

SEE MORE Charlie Hutson photos HERE.

In Jellico, Dwight Osborne is the new mayor with 251 votes. Other totals in that race included John Clifton with 172 votes, incumbent Mayor Forster Baird with 163 and James Morris, Sr. with 74 votes for the race.

In the aldermen’s race the numbers were :Jerry Neal, 429, Suzette Davenport, 400, Sandy Weaver Terry, 382, Stanley Marlow, 339, Alvin Evans, 318 and Sarah McQueen, 317. They all won seats on the board. Other totals included, Tonia Brookman, 176, Elise Crawford Bates, 276, Robert Hicks, 211, Charles Vermillion, 209, and Louise Walden, 216.

While the candidates in Caryville were all unopposed voters still turned out for them. In Ward 1, Vickie Heatherly received 509 votes, Ward 2 contestant Eric Smith got 479 votes and Beth Lawson in Ward 3 received 486 votes.

Dennis Powers won a fifth term as State Representative for the 36th District.  He outpaced his challenger Cassandra Mitchell by a total tally of 12,736 to 3,672.   That total vote comes from Campbell, Union and Anderson Counties.

Election coverage was brought to you in part by Terry’s Pharmacy, Peoples Bank of the South, Bales Buick – GMC, Gray Insurance, PCUD, Dave’s Lawn Mower Parts, City of La Follette, Litho-Craft Printing and Office Supply and First National Bank.  (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED 11/06/2018-11PM)